Posted in Uncategorized

Back at the lake

I sat on a cement wall today and thought about the lake house. I thought about all the times spent with my feet bare and in swinging off the dock, grazing the chilly water while Sam, Tiffanie, Bryan, and Kaleena played and splashed. I thought about all the cups of coffee I drank in my wet swimsuit, sitting at the table with Aunt Beast. And the more I thought about the lake and the tighter I closed my eyes, the more like waves people’s feet scraping across the pavement sounded. And the tractors, mowing the athletic fields began to sound more like motor boats with the laughter and chatter of my peers turning into the laugher and chatter of people happily tubing behind the boats. And the snippets of conversation I heard resembled more and more the pleasant conversation of those out on the pontoon boats cruising. And I squeezed my eyes shut even tighter and felt a breeze blow through my hair. And in my heart, for just a moment, I was at home on the lake.

Author:

“As you know, I am a petal borne aloft on the autumn wind. It should say that in my file.” I like my alone time but get lonely frequently. I am dependable and trustworthy, a hard worker, and if I say I will do something, it will most likely be done. I am daily learning who I am and how I relate to people. I sing almost constantly. (Some would say I’m crazy or weird… I’m ok with that.) I am a singing, dancing photographer/writer/web-editor/proofreader who wants to change the world. I am on the cusp of a quarter-life crisis, navigating the ups and downs of becoming a grown-up. I find that as a twenty-nine year old woman, many of my friends seem to have the life I want: jobs in fields they love (with decent salaries), boyfriends, fiances, children, etc., while I seem somewhat stuck in a mediocre job with little time for a social life. I am a Christian trying to apply my very real faith to my equally real life. I have perfectionist tendencies which I blame on being an oldest child. I think that about covers it so... yeah.

Leave a Reply

