Posted in Uncategorized

being known…

They went together into the old room 
That looked across the fields; and Imogen 
Gazed out with a girl’s gladness in her eyes, 
Happy to know that she was back once more 
Where there were those who knew her, and at last 
Had gloriously got away again 
From cabs and clattered asphalt for a while; 
And there she sat and talked and looked and laughed 
And made the mother and the children laugh. 
Aunt Imogen made everybody laugh. 

Aunt Imogen, Edwin Arlington Robinson

I spent the weekend with Aunt Beast, the “laundry lady” from O. She lives on the lake with her son. Unfortunately, he was with his father this weekend. She and I went hiking, went to a used bookstore, cooked dinner, had a campfire, watched a chick flick and ate chocolate. We sat on her dock and drank coffee.

We talked about so much. I read this poem for class a couple weeks ago and I really love it. And those few lines, especially the ones about being happy to be someplace “away” and where there were those who knew her. Aunt Beast definitely knows me pretty well. And I also saw Chief and Sunshine, who also know me well. It was so relaxing and fulfilling to be with people that I’m that comfortable with. 

Anyway, why do I say all this? Just because I miss them. During the summer it’s rare to find a lot of time to just chill out with one another, to really know them. Obviously we know each other pretty well from working with one another and seeing what makes them tick. I know Aunt Beast a lot better than I know a lot of people. And she knows me better than a lot of people do. It’s just good to be able to relax together. That’s all.

Author:

“As you know, I am a petal borne aloft on the autumn wind. It should say that in my file.” I like my alone time but get lonely frequently. I am dependable and trustworthy, a hard worker, and if I say I will do something, it will most likely be done. I am daily learning who I am and how I relate to people. I sing almost constantly. (Some would say I’m crazy or weird… I’m ok with that.) I am a singing, dancing photographer/writer/web-editor/proofreader who wants to change the world. I am on the cusp of a quarter-life crisis, navigating the ups and downs of becoming a grown-up. I find that as a twenty-nine year old woman, many of my friends seem to have the life I want: jobs in fields they love (with decent salaries), boyfriends, fiances, children, etc., while I seem somewhat stuck in a mediocre job with little time for a social life. I am a Christian trying to apply my very real faith to my equally real life. I have perfectionist tendencies which I blame on being an oldest child. I think that about covers it so... yeah.

Leave a Reply

